Groups Permission Settings

See how different permission settings impact different groups

Groups are a fantastic way of creating interesting places for members of your community to engage and connect with each other. By default, content shared in a group is published in the home feeds of users in your community. The user has the ability to change this in their group settings if they would like to. When creating a group, you'll notice that there are different permission settings for each group. The permission settings are as follows for members and non-members. 

Group permissions cannot be updated or changed once the group is created.

* Private is the same as the Restricted group.

In more depth...

OPEN

  • Everyone can see the group
  • Everyone can join with no need for approval
  • Everyone in the Open group can post/chat with other members and see posts

TIP: If your community is closed, then all groups can be open... because you have to be a member of the community in order to join or view ANY group.  

GATED

  • Everyone can see the group EXISTS and the CONTENT in the group
  • Users can APPLY to join and be approved by the admin to interact with the content/post content
  • Everyone in the Gated group can post/chat with other members in the gated group and see posts

    CLOSED

  • Everyone can see the group
  • Everyone can apply to join - and then needs to be approved by an admin
  • Once in they can see everything and post/chat within the group

    RESTRICTED (PRIVATE) 

  • NOBODY can see the group unless they've been added via an admin
  • Nobody can apply to join the group - can only be added by admin
  • Once in they can see everything and post/chat within the group